Our Team

The HMSTrust management structure is centred around the Board of Trustees, who are responsible for overarching governance and decision-making across the Trust's three key areas of operations: grantmaking, investment, and finance and compliance. In addition to attendance at Trustees' Meetings, Trustees elect to sit on the Investment Committee and the Grants Advisory Committee.

Each area of operation is staffed with skilled professionals who are responsible for delivering on HMSTrust's vision, mission and strategic aims.

Our Team

L-R: The Hon Rod Kemp, Catherine Walter AM, Dr Philip Moors AO, Frances Awcock AM, Keith Smith, Winsome McCaughey AO.


Dr Philip Moors AO  Chairman
Frances Awcock AM (retired 17 November 2016)
The Hon Rod Kemp
Winsome McCaughey AO
Keith Smith (UK-based)
Catherine Walter AM

For further details of our Trustees, visit the full Trustees page on our website.
Read the featured interview with Fran Awcock 

Our Team

HMSTrust staff. L-R: Peter Wetherall, Lin Bender, Lea-Anne Bradley, Michelle Springall, Sarah Bartak, Glen Thomson and our four-legged member of staff, Ryley


Lin Bender AM  Chief Executive
Glen Thomson  Finance Executive
Peter Wetherall  Investment Executive
Lea-Anne Bradley  Grants Manager
Sarah Bartak  Grants and Communications Officer
Michelle Springall  Executive Assistant and Project Officer

For further details of our staff, visit the full Staff page on our website.

Grants Advisory Committee

Dr Philip Moors AO  Committee Chairman
Frances Awcock AM (retired 17 November 2016)
Winsome McCaughey AO
Keith Smith
Lin Bender AM

Investment Committee

Catherine Walter AM  Committee Chair
Dr Philip Moors AO
The Hon Rod Kemp
Peter Wetherall
Lin Bender AM