Helen Macpherson Smith Trust

Main Menu Search


Dr Philip Moors AO

Dr Philip Moors AO Chairman

Dr Philip Moors was appointed a trustee of Helen Macpherson Smith Trust in 2010 and Chairman in August 2014.

Philip grew up in Sydney, attended the Australian National University in Canberra and then the University of Aberdeen in Scotland, where he received his PhD in 1975. In 1989 he became the first full-time Director of the Royal Australasian Ornithologists Union (now BirdLife Australia).

From 1992 to 2012 Philip was Director and CEO of the Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne, where he led the creation of the multi-award-winning Australian Garden at the Royal Botanic Gardens Cranbourne.

Philip was a member of the executive board of the Committee for Melbourne, the inaugural President of Botanic Gardens Australia and New Zealand and was a member of the Victorian National Parks Advisory Council.

He received the Centenary Medal in 2003 for services to the community through conservation and the environment. He became a member of the Council of La Trobe University in 2013, and that year was appointed an Officer of The Order of Australia for distinguished service to conservation and the environment.

Alexandra Gartmann

Alexandra Gartmann

Alexandra Gartmann was appointed a trustee of Helen Macpherson Smith Trust in 2018.

Alexandra is a passionate advocate and champion for rural and regional Australia, having grown up and grown her career in rural and regional Australia. She has a Bachelor of Science (Resource and Environmental Management) ANU. She is the Managing Director & CEO of Rural Bank, a member of the Prime Minister’s Community Business Partnership and a member of the Victorian Agriculture Advisory Council.

Between 2011 and 2015 Alexandra was CEO of the Foundation for Rural and Regional Renewal (FRRR), a charitable foundation based on a partnership between philanthropy, community, government and business supporting the economic prosperity of rural, regional and remote communities across Australia. Prior roles include the CEO of the Birchip Cropping Group for 10 years — a not-for-profit agricultural research organisation based in the Mallee Wimmera region – and Community Landcare Coordinator in the wheatbelt of WA.

Alexandra has been Chair of the CSIRO Agriculture and Food Advisory Council, a member of the Australian Landcare Council, Crawford Fund, National Rural Advisory Council, Victorian Flood Disaster Appeal Panel, National Centre of Excellence for Civil Society Advisory Committee, Regional Telecommunications Independent Review Committee, Victorian Women in Primary Industries Advisory Panel and RIRDC National Rural Issues Consultative Group.

Alexandra has been an active Ambulance Community Officer with Ambulance Victoria and continues to enjoy sports such as hockey, mountain biking and stand up paddleboarding.

Claire Higgins

Claire Higgins

Claire Higgins was appointed a trustee of Helen Macpherson Smith Trust in 2017.

Claire grew up in Victoria’s Wimmera region and lives in the Surf Coast Shire. She undertook a Bachelor of Commerce at the University of Melbourne, is a Fellow CPA, and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Claire has over 26 years’ experience with Australian listed companies OneSteel Limited and The Broken Hill Proprietary Company Limited, and Belgian major corporate NV Bekaert SA, and her governance experience is extensive. She is the current Chair of REI Superannuation, Chair of Northwest Healthcare Property Management, and a Director of Ryman Healthcare Limited, RT Health Fund Ltd, and Pancare Foundation.

Previously held directorships include Director and Immediate Past Chair – Victorian State Emergency Services, Chair – Victorian Country Fire Authority, Director – Portland District Health, Ambulance Victoria, Barwon Health, Barwon Water and Committee for Geelong.   Ms Higgins was a member of the Expert Panels for the Victorian Health Service Management Innovation Council and Victorian Health Service Board Development Program Reference Group.

The Hon. Rod Kemp AM

The Hon. Rod Kemp AM

The Hon Rod Kemp AM was appointed a trustee of Helen Macpherson Smith Trust in 2010.

Rod graduated with a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Melbourne. He is Chairman of the Institute of Public Affairs, a board member of the Sport Australia Hall of Fame and of Melbourne Scots. He retired as a Senator for Victoria in 2008 after a long career in Federal Parliament.

Rod was a minister in all four Howard Governments. He was Minister for the Arts and Sport 2001-2007, Assistant Treasurer 1996-2001 and acting Minister for Finance in 2001. He also held various shadow ministerial portfolios between 1992 and 1996, including the environment and administrative services.

Prior to entering Parliament, he was Executive Director of the Institute of Public Affairs and held various positions in journalism, economic research and corporate relations.

In 2020, Rod Kemp was honoured as a Member of The Order of Australia for significant service to the Parliament of Australia, and to the people of Victoria.

Bruce Parncutt AO

Bruce Parncutt AO

Bruce Parncutt was appointed a trustee of Helen Macpherson Smith Trust in 2018.

Bruce’s career spans over 40 years in investment management, investment banking and stock broking. He is Chairman and a principal of investment banking group, Lion Capital, a member of The Australian Ballet board, the University of Melbourne Campaign Board, and the University of Melbourne Centre for Positive Psychology Strategic Advisory Board.

Previous roles include: Managing Director of McIntosh Securities, Senior Vice President of Merrill Lynch, Director of Australian Stock Exchange Ltd, President of the Council of Trustees of the National Gallery of Victoria, Board Member and Chairman of the NGV Foundation, member of the Felton Bequest Committee, Council member of Melbourne Grammar School, and Director of a number of listed public companies.

Bruce’s experience includes extensive involvement in financial analysis, merger and acquisition transactions, capital-raisings, and investment in companies across a broad spectrum from early stage to mature public companies. He holds a Bachelor of Science, an MBA, and is a Senior Associate of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia.

Bruce was recognised as Officer in the Order of Australia in the 2016 Queen’s Birthday Honours List for distinguished service to the community as a philanthropist, particularly in arts and education, and as an advocate and supporter of charitable causes, and to business and commerce.

Catherine Walter AM

Catherine Walter AM

Catherine Walter was appointed a trustee of Helen Macpherson Smith Trust in 2014.

Catherine has been a company director for more than 20 years. She is a director of the Reserve Bank’s Payment Systems Board, Australian Foundation Investment Company, Victorian Funds Management, Walter & Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research and VicForests. In November 2016 she was appointed first Board Chair of Melbourne Genomics Health Alliance and in April 2017 she was appointed Chair of Financial Adviser Standards and Ethics Authority.

A former Managing Partner with Clayton Utz, Ms Walter has previously held directorships in a range of listed, government and not-for-profit enterprises including: ASX, National Australia Bank, Orica, Melbourne Business School, Victorian Opera and Australian Ballet School. As well, she is a past Chairman of Federation Square, Australian Synchrotron and Equipsuper, and a past Commissioner of the City of Melbourne.

Catherine has a first class honours bachelor degree in laws, a Master of Laws and an MBA all from the University of Melbourne. In 2003 Catherine Walter was honoured as a Member of The Order of Australia for service to business, particularly as a director of a range of public companies, to the arts, to the law, and to the community through the Melbourne City Council.